DMS Future City teams at Auburn

Three Decatur Middle School teams competed in the Alabama Regional Future City Competition on Saturday, January 21st. Decatur Middle received 4 awards and $600 in award money. Teams received the following awards:

  • "Outstanding Project Plan" presented by the Project Management Institute Education Fund awarded to our 8th grade team,"Hali Bonte".
  • "Alabama Student's Choice Award" presented by Alabama Modeling & Simulation Council awarded to "Hali Bonte"
  • "Most Innovative Use of Technology" presented by the Huntsville Association of Technical Studies awarded to one of our 7th grade teams, "Cornville"
  • "Best Team Spirit Award" presented by the Women in Defense awarded to the other 7th grade team, "ICE-town by IBM"

Each award was presented with a plaque and $150. 

Hali Bonte (8th grade)
Brayden Battles
Colton Gillespie
Kathia Hernandez
Darius Hubbard
Preston Jackson
Jack Marshall
Christopher Martin
Nathan Matthews
Max McCormick
Ian Newton
Charlotte Nuss
William Perry
Christopher Raymunda Vega
Brody Ridley
Emma Glenn Roby
Brayden Thomas
Olivia Thomas
Heidi White

Cornville (7th grade)
Joseph Botto
Ila Kate Butram 
Giovani Chavez
Corinne Davis
Steve Draper
Oliver Faulkner

Anthony Ferry
Brigid McCool 
Josie McKinney
Nayely Pedro
Cordelia Stutts
Tylan Swan
Deshaun Swopes
Cierra Taylor
Anna Tabarez

I.C.E.-town by IBM (7th grade)
RJ Arroyo
Riley Chism
Camille Davis 
Britaney Flores
LouLou Greene
Wyatt Howard
Frida Lara

Mary Reed McMasters

Marley Rogers
Dalton Smith
Samantha Weinman
Lane Willis